Jason’s 40B

jason7274

Market
Reaction score
827E90CF-DBC3-4B39-BD31-A2BDC282C2D4.jpeg
This is my first attempt at a reef tank. It started as a 36G bowfront in January and moved to the 40B in April. Because this was my first, I went with a Fluval 270 Canister vs the sump, but the plan is to switch to a sump or AIO inset later. Also, I recently upgraded to 2 Prime HDs. I only have a few pieces of coral because I’m battling an algae problem at the moment and trying to get it under control. Also, possibly dinos so I’m borrowing a microscope to confirm. I did add a couple more pieces of dry rock recently hence the BRIGHT WHITE! Haha.

Params:
PH - 8.0
NH3 - 0.0
NO2 - 0.0
N03 - 0.0
PO4 - 0.03
CA - 440

Livestock:
2 Clowns
1 Bi-color Blenny
1 Firefish
1 YWG/PS
1 Cleaner Strimp
1 Nassarius
1 Tiger Conch
5 Asteria

Coral:
1 Hairy Mushroom
1 frag of Toadstoal, Duncan, Frogspawn
1 GSP
1 Pulsing Xenia

Reactions: ejr
Ugh! I’ve lost my Firefish. I’m assuming it has been devoured or its hiding really really well. It stopped coming out from its home a couple weeks ago. I lifted up her rock and she wasn’t there. I’ve since removed/moved all of the rock and cannot find it anywhere. Would a snail CUC or Pistol shrimp eat the entire fish? Ive got a mesh top with only a 2 inch opening for my intake/outtake, but Ive looked all around the tank inside and out and cannot find it. All other fish/shrimp and CUC are doing great.

I have notice an increasing amount of algae over the last month or so. It was green and slimy with air bubbles in it. I took a photo to a LFS and they thought it might be Cyano and they recommended Chemiclean. I started the treatment Sunday night adding an air stone for increase the O2. It has been 48hrs and my tank is SPOTLESS. There are a couple of small spots of algae left on the rocks, but for the most part it is all gone. Has anyone used this stuff before? It this typical?