Let the games... BEGIN!!

oceandeep85

Market
Reaction score
Warning! Look away if you don't like carnage.

Long story short, tonight, I not only bleached my live rock, but I boiled it, baked it at 450 for 45 mins, rinsed it in freshwater a few times, scrubbed the hell out of it, dried it with my girlfriend's mega-powerful (hotter than expected) hairdryer, let it dry some more and added it back to the tank.

Why?

Well... I'm a noob. A panicky, no good, rotten noob.

I'd had the tank (a 10 gallon nano... 20" long, 10" wide, 12" high) up and running with two damsels and a large piece of live rock I got from PetCo for a few weeks. I tested the water twice a day and was excited to see the cycling process move along rather swiftly. I credited it to the beginning foundation of 10 lbs of live sand (Caribsea Caribbean Oolite) and about a 3 lb chunk of live rock and one blue damsel. Everything was coming along fine. Eventually Ammonia was 0, nitrite was barely detectable and nitrate was around 10ppm. I felt like I was on easy street.

Now, remember, this was before I found this club and these threads, so, at the time.. craigslist was my best friend.

I bought about 10lbs of tonga live rock from a guy whose wife was making him get out of the hobby. He sold it for $2 a lb. I thought it was a good deal. I visited his house, saw the setup and he had a gorgeous 6 year old maroon clown, a beautiful Niger Trigger and a purple dottyback that all seemed happy as could be. No coral, but the tank was in good shape. The Live rock had that distinctive smell and was covered in beautiful coralline algae and lots of short green hair algae. I brought it home, got a rough idea of how I wanted it to look and added it to my display.