Teaching Marine Biology HELP!!!:)

marinecurious

Market
Reaction score
<span style="font-family: Calibri;"><span style="font-size: 13px;">I am a middle school science teacher. I normally teach Physical Science, but my school has started a service learning program in which teachers get to choose a topic they would like to “teach” for one period a day. Students can choose a class in which they have interest. I chose to investigate Marine Biology. Please keep in mind that I have ZERO expertise on this topic, just an interest. The purpose of this class is to research and learn about marine life and pass on what we learn to others through a museum night. This is a student lead endeavor. Our interests are ocean and reef conservation, sustainable fishing, endangered species, and responsible aquarium keeping. My school has been willing to invest some money (which is gone now<font size="3" data-gcupd="font-3"><!-- gcu-updated -->:bash2:)</span></span> into starting up a reef tank. We now have a 72 gallon bow front with a ~50 gallon refugium tank below. We have some live rock, a small cleaner crew, a Lawnmower Blenny, and unfortunately, too much hair algae. Both tanks are visible. Thanks to Chris at Fish Scales, we have received a wonderful education about this hobby. I am hoping to continue to utilize you experts to help my students and I have a successful tank. I also envision having my students post questions to this knowledgeable forum. Any information, advice, and/or cautions you could give would be greatly appreciated.</font><!-- gcu-updated SIZE -->

<span style="font-family: Calibri;"><span style="font-size: 13px;">Thank you for your time!</span></span>

Welcome aboard!

Do you have any specific questions we can help with?

Jenn